Coconut Curry Egg Salad – hold the mayo

Image

 

I never liked egg salad. I think its because I never liked mayonnaise. I eat very deliberately, however if I did not make the conscious decision to eat deliberately, I would most definitely eat anything put in front of my face. I like the taste and texture of most things, with only three exceptions: celery, black licorice, and mayonnaise.

Recently I’ve found myself using coconut milk as a replacement for all sorts of things, and everything I put it in seems to be better because of it. 

So here is a recipe, for a gluten free paleo-friendly egg salad.

  • 1/2 dozen hard boiled eggs
  • 1 small or medium red apple, diced
  • 1/3 cup tamari almonds or roasted almonds, chopped
  • 1/4 cup coconut milk
  • 2 tspns yellow curry powder
  • 1 tspn red curry paste
  • 1 tspn tamari sauce
  • 2 tspns toasted sesame oil (only if it seems to be coming out dry)

Directions: Remove yolks from hard boiled eggs, and roughly chop egg whites. Add diced apple and almond to the egg whites. In a separate bowl, mash the egg yolks with the curry, tamari, coconut milk and toasted sesame oil (you can also use coconut oil, melted) – once everything is well mixed, toss the egg white apple and almond mixture into it. If it is too dry, you can play with adding more coconut milk, oil, or soy sauce. 

Leave a Reply

